Faith in humanity

So…

I am still touched and can barely find words for something that happened to me yesterday. Don’t worry, it was a good thing.

Yesterday afternoon I decided to go with my boyfriend to the mall and buy some things that I need (extra fan for my notebook, extra keyboard, etc).  We were walking through the building and I said that I was thirsty. He was also, but we were so excited about buying new things that we didn’t pay that much attention to it.

Nevertheless, we finished our shopping spree and were deciding where to go. Since it was kind of late, we took the tram home (sometimes I wonder if I use proper words. People who read my blog, please, warn me. We are here to learn. Thank you).

It was really hot outside, temperature being around 32 degrees Celsius (89 degrees Fahrenheit). That was when it hit us; out on a hot sunny day, no shops nearby, thirsty like never before. We were getting grumpy and tired – we just wanted to go home. Our ride soon arrived and we jumped in, only to find out after two stops that there was a traffic jam.

So, we were sitting in tram that was stuck, across a girl and a boy. My boyfriend started joking and I started replying with jokes also. The pair across was smiling from time to time, but they were’t talking. At one moment I made a sad face, realizing that we won’t move for an hour maybe and said: “I knew I should’ve bought a bottle of water. It’s so hot I think I may collapse in near future.”

And the girl sitting across gave me her bottle of water that wasn’t open: “Take it. You need it more than I.”

I was stunned. That is something that you never see. Actually, you see it happen, but to other people. I didn’t know what to say, and I tried to refuse, but she didn’t want to hear any of it. I only said thanks and continued waiting.

5 minutes later the doors opened to let us go and find another way of going home.

Those things never happen to me.

I have to admit, it feels nice when it happens to you. It’s like you realize there are good people outside, and you can count on them. On hot days they give you water. On rainy days people share umbrellas with strangers. Some give a drink to people on street. Feed the animals, adopt them, care for them.

We take these things for granted until it happens to us. Then we see how big their impact is.

Thank you, kind stranger, I won’t forget this small act of kindness. 

One thought on “Faith in humanity

Leave a Reply

