Change of Heart Part 2 (The Entrance Exam)

That morning I woke up early. It was necessary to drink coffee and eat something in order to think properly. Yes, it was the D-day of my life. The day I will someday in the future tell to my grandchildren. Anyway I didn’t want any of that; it just wasn’t part of my daily routine (the eating part). At 8 o’clock in the morning I was at the building holding my ID card and waiting to get inside. 

When we entered the classroom and I saw papers at my seat, I realized that we won’t be able to go out until the exam was over. By my rough estimations, that could be for three or four hours. I thanked God for not drinking anything and seated myself. At half past eight, the exam began.

The exam had 5 parts. 

1) They tested our knowledge of grammar

2) Testing our understanding of texts in English by reading and then answering the questions, which was entirely pointless, because, instead of taking our texts away, they let us have them all the time. It was like giving the test and the answer sheets at the same time.

3) Listening comprehension – the same as reading, but we now listen to text and have the questions with us. 

4) Write an essay about 200 words long – really, almost every post on this blog has minimum of 400 words. How can I even do this? It’s hard. (I love sarcasm)

These 4 parts, although they were easy, took very long, so it was about 11 o’clock or something like that. When we were finished, we thought it was time for a short break, because the fourth part was a test o Serbian grammar. But the universe proved us wrong, again. The moment we finished the English part, the commission of English part went outside and we greeted the Serbian one. Great. The test was supposed to be an hour long, but everyone finished it for 20 minutes, and they wouldn’t let us go! We had to wait for 40 minutes! Hungry, thirsty and tired, I thanked God for my endurance from time when I was musician. 

I felt sorry for those kids. They weren’t prepared for that and their concentration was slipping by the end of the English test. They were also afraid, although they knew there was nothing to be afraid of. It is in our nature, to fear of unknown. 

In the end, I think we all celebrated when we got out of the classroom. I was happy and focused on another exam that was taking place tomorrow…

One thought on “Change of Heart Part 2 (The Entrance Exam)

Leave a Reply

