Parents on internet – yes or no?

Wherever I join some conversation about internet, there is often one question that I hear: Should children use internet and social networks? But, that is not what I want to blog about today. In fact, I want to know answer for one opposite question – what happens when parents come in touch with internet?

So, at the start of the year, I made for each of my parents a Facebook account. At the beginning everything was okay, but soon the problems started. Personally, I don’t mind if they poke me on Facebook or chat sometimes with me, but I like to talk to them personally or with phone.

Well, then, how time passed, they wanted to know more about internet, and soon I couldn’t do anything because they where everywhere.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like my parents being on internet. I mean, often I talk with my friends on Facebook or some other social network about things that are not for my parents ears – how much did I drink last night, how was the party or some things that know my friends. It was the “What happens on Facebook, stays on Facebook” policy. Thanks to my rookie mistake, I killed my time on internet. Good thing is that my parents don’t know a word on English so I still have my blog. My mother is learning English, by the way.

So, about the question of parents on internet, I have to say no. This is not about older or younger people on internet, it is about the relationship of a parent and child on internet. I experienced it first hand and it is not that pleasant. Of course there has to be some exception: kids should have some sort of protection by their parents on internet. You never know.

Anyway, am I the only one with problem like this? Are your parents on internet too, and do they contact you there? It is my curiosity that asks you this, not me.

4 thoughts on “Parents on internet – yes or no?

  1. The problem is not in the internet, it is in the interaction between us and our parents. It is not natural to have your parents as friends on a social network because that interconects them with a subset of “friends” activities they would not normally have access to. For example, in real life they do not attend parties we throw. On social networks you do not have the natural border, but you can arange through privacy settings what they can and can not see. That is the case with facebook, but other social networks do not have that much levels of privacy. I hope I helped a little with your dilema. 🙂

  2. Personally it’s not that big of a deal anymore. Sure, when I was younger and partied more, I wouldn’t want my parents on Facebook seeing the crazy pictures from the parties… but maybe now that I’m older, and my parents become more of my “friend” than my “parent”, I really don’t mind. My mom doesn’t want to join Facebook, but my dad’s on there.. plus some aunts & uncles.. I don’t have anything to hide. I wouldn’t put it on there if I didn’t want people to see it.

  3. I think it depends how much you have to hide 🙂 I am happy to be my Mum’s friend on FB, but then I joined FB in the first place because my uni supervisor told me to, so I always knew I had to be careful on there – a uni supervisor is scarier than a parent – you daren’t post stuff like ‘Aaagh I hate my course!’ 🙂

    But my sister wouldn’t be our Mum’s friend for a couple of years because of her posts about her drunken binges and hangovers 😀 (she is now)

    I like being my Mum’s friend and I’d like it if my Dad joined too, but he won’t.

  4. I’m friends with my parents too in Facebook and had some problems about it because there are just some things that should not be for them yet they saw… So from there, I learned to utilize the privacy settings. Now, they’re no problem for me at all.

Leave a Reply

