In the meantime (containing spoilers about Harry Potter)

Did you wonder why I haven’t posted for two days? Did you miss me (just kidding)? Well, the truth is, I was busy reading all the books about Harry Potter. I think I mentioned that earlier on my blog.

So these books took at least two days of my life. I have to say that I’m impressed. I read books, but it is rare that I get so obsessed with them. Only thing I regret is that I didn’t read them on English, but on my native language (Serbian) and Croatian.

Yes, Croatian and Serbian are very similar, but there were still some words which meaning I had to search. So, while I was reading, I kept calling my father to translate me some of the words. That was annoying for him (For God’s sake, girl, you should know the meaning!).

First thing that surprised me is that the book just kept me going and going so I didn’t even realize that in one moment I was reading in Serbian, and another in Croatian. How the Hell did that happen? It’s because the writer was very good and translators also.

I read first 6 parts 2 years ago, but I had to re-read all of them because I didn’t know half of the characters in the last one. Because of that, I started to like some characters more than the others.

I felt sorry for Draco Malfoy. Yes, sorry. I haven’t even read the 7th part and the sixth I forgot, but, still, even than I felt sorry. He was one of those people who get brainwashed by parents and are thought from birth to love some egoistic, maniacal guy.  He wanted to get out, even his parents, but they just couldn’t. And not to mention that I knew the reason Dumbledore didn’t let Draco kill him and I didn’t even read that part.

Now, my most favorite characters are Fred and George Weasley. They are so funny, and they remind me of some people I know. I was very sad when George lost his ear, but I almost cried when Fred died. Oh yeah, many of the characters I like have died. Injustice! I liked Lupin, Tonks, Bill Weasley, Sirius. Some of my favorite characters were Death Eaters, like Belatrix Lestrange, who I like because she was more evil than Voldemort himself. I liked her mostly because, until the end, I hoped that she will survive and become new enemy.

From the beginning had some sympathy towards Snape. He was an interesting character and I really thought that he isn’t that bad as he seems. I was right of course, and in the end I felt sorry for him to.

Oh, I can’t forget my two favorite ghosts Peeves and Bloody Baron. I don’t know why I liked Baron that much, but I think it’s because he was the only one Peeves was afraid of. That is cool!

Oh, I also liked Hedwiga, Crookshanks, Hedwig and Aragog.

It is strange that I really didn’t like the main characters. Harry, Ron, and Hermione were characters I disliked the most. Sometimes they were so annoying. I think that all members of the Weasley family annoyed me, except for the twins and Bill. Professors of the Hagwarts annoyed me and even Dumbledore annoyed me. I think it’s like that because they are mentioned too much in the books.

Well, I have to tell that I liked the story. Of course there were things that I didn’t like, e.g. the repetition of Voldemort or his Death Eaters attacking only at the end of the school year. How come they don’t attack for Christmas?  No one is there, they can take over the school in no time! How come Harry Potter is so smart? Why are some characters so stupid and they don’t see what’s going on?

And at the end, I’ll say one thing – if you didn’t read the books, read them, but, don’t watch the movie and pretend you know the books. 70% of the story isn’t in movie. Highly recommended by me. It will keep you busy for days. Thank you, Joan K. Rowling.

3 thoughts on “In the meantime (containing spoilers about Harry Potter)

  1. Oh, it must be interesting to read it in another language! Is Hedwiga different from Hedwig?

    Oh, I LOVE Draco.. haha… I’m a sucker for the bad boys.. so I love my Slytherin boy 🙂 hehehe..

    I can’t believe you read through the whole series so quickly! Granted, it took me a day to read through the last few books when they were first released (I was so scared to NOT finish them right away because someone might spoil it!)

  2. Oh, no! I meant Pigwidgeon and Hedwig! I don’t know why I wrote that. I think I’m just exhausted from intense reading…

    Well, as for Draco, I always thought he is not that evil, just close-minded (does this count as the opposite of open-minded?). My favorite bad character is Bellatrix, because she is crazy. 🙂

    As for reading, I said that it was an obsession. I couldn’t eat nor sleep, I just HAD to finish the story quickly so I can get on with my life. 😀 I am crazy, I know, but the story just went on and on… 🙂

    • Close-minded definitely counts as the opposite of open-minded.. 🙂 I haven’t had much time lately but I’m definitely working through re-reading the whole series again..

Leave a Reply

