Video games and me – pt. 4

I decided to find one good MMORPG to download and play with my boyfriend. I guess this is goodbye, my friends.  We won’t see each other for a very long time. Nah, I’m just joking! Why the Hell would I do that? It’s not like I had good experience in the past. But, I have to try it because it’s the only kind of game that I haven’t played.

As a true Star Wars fan, my first option for a good game was “The Old Republic”, but, sadly, my computer can’t support it. It’s a business one and  not really into games. Too bad. Oh, not to mention that I don’t have that much money to spend it on monthly fees.

And that is why I’m downloading Runes Of Magic (recommended by a friend). It’s free and I’m rather curious about this whole project. Also, I wonder if I’ll get addicted.

Nothing in my life ever got me addicted to anything. I do what I want, when I want. That is why I really doubt about this whole thing with addiction (but you never know).

Okay, I have a question for you to think about it while I play this game: Is playing video games bad? Do video games make our youngsters violent? I know many violent people that weren’t playing video games, but maybe there is some kind of connection. Is it about knowing the difference between imagination and reality? Where does one stop and another begins?

3 thoughts on “Video games and me – pt. 4

  1. It depends how in touch with reality the player is. I love me some good video games (though I prefer the Super Mario-type games myself) but some people can lose all touch with what’s real and what’s not. That’s when I think video games could be a bad influence. But I remember hearing people/media blame video games (or rock music) whenever some teenager commits a crime, but I don’t really think they can put the entire blame on video games. I mean, thousands of millions of people play video games for decades now. They’re not all criminals! The parents have to bring these kids up properly as well.

    • I agree with you on that. It’s a lot easier for people to blame the game industry instead themselves. I’ve played video games since I was a child and I turned out to be quite good and non-violent person. All thanks to my parents. But there are psychologists that say there is a connection between video games and violent behavior. Aren’t we all violent, then?

  2. Pingback: Star Wars The Old Republic - nuclear war 2012

Leave a Reply

