When I was scared…

When you’re a 5 year old kid, you don’t know what danger is. You play in dirt, with knives, and many other things. Your parents do their best to protect you, but, sometimes, that is not enough.

I remember when I was 5, my cousin who was attending high school, was living with us, so he didn’t have to travel. He, my brother and I loved to play together and really enjoyed that time.

Once while we played, my cousin put me on his shoulders and carried me through the house. My father was in the basement and my mother in the kitchen. It was really interesting to see things from that height, and it was really fun. But, one moment, my cousin sat on the couch and leaned. I did than something stupid and threw my head backwards, hitting it right into the edge of the wall.

I didn’t feel anything. I was smiling, until I so shocked faces of my brother and cousin. There was blood on my head and back. I was bleeding too much.

Without thinking, they both ran to the basement calling for my father. I was scared now. I didn’t know what was happening. It didn’t hurt. It was just a scratch, nothing serious.

I was wrong. From that point, everything I remember about my injury is blurred. There is a memory of my father carrying me to the car and driving to the hospital. I was crying out fear. I thought I was dying. He carried me to the hospital entrance, where they told him to wait and that doctor will be there shortly.

Time was passing and I felt dizzy from crying and injury. The bleeding stopped, but now it started to hurt. After five minutes, a surgeon passed and saw me. He was shocked when he found out no one told him about new patient. He quickly dragged me to the table and placed stitches on my wound. He tried to calm me down, but I was terrified. Who wouldn’t be.

Later, I found out that, if my father didn’t respond quickly and took me to the hospital, and, if that surgeon wasn’t there that moment, I would be dead.

So, that’s it. My most terrifying memory. Everyone has one, that’s for sure. Is yours more terrifying than mine?

2 thoughts on “When I was scared…

Leave a Reply

