Movies…Don’t they just make you cry?

For starts, I have to apologize for not updating my blog. I have a plumber problem in my bathroom which still isn’t fixed. Don’t ask anything. Anyway, let’s begin.

After writing my post about “Sintel”, I asked people which movies made them cry. I was surprised with answers. There were so many movies that I hadn’t expected to hear. Really…

So, here they are. I hope you’ll enjoy it.

1. First response I got from Nikola, who told me about the movie he almost cried. Now, don’t be shy, it’s not that embarrassing for a man to cry.  It is very brave of him to cry. And, also, the movie that made him cry is really very sad and emotional. We’re talking about the “Green Mile.”

The Green Mile

Okay, about the movie. It’s very emotional. I will not write too much. Hell, just watch it. I am not a spoiler. The story about the lives of guards on death row leading up to the execution of a wrongly accused man who has the power of faith healing. That is all you have to know – what is on the internet. All I will say is that it is a good movie.

2. Second response to my question is from a guy who writes movie reviews, Goran. He knows much about movies, but I don’t understand how he can cry on Terminator 2 and Robocop. Ah, well…

Not much to cry at, eh? It's time for action, not crying.

I asked him: “But, what is there to cry about?” Do you know what he sad to me? “The moment where Terminator destroys himself and they dismantle Robocop are two very emotional moments for action movies.” Well, not in these words, but, I know how to read between the lines.
Or, maybe he was just joking. I’ll never know.

3. Mr.z! told me about Ice Age 1. The scene with Diego, the tiger from the movie, when he get’s injured and everyone thinks he’s dead almost brought me to tears (but almost). Also the scene with the baby when they say goodbye and part ways… Beautiful…

And the humans don't talk in this movie. Smart move

4. And, like usual, here is the answer from Uros. He helps me often with these actions I make. He’s  answer was the movie “Saving private Ryan”

Saving private Ryan - You must watch this movie

This movie is good. No discussion. You can’t make me write about it. Go and watch it. Now!

5. After one day break, I started another conversation with Nikola, this time including also our friend Biljana, who really likes to watch movies. While trying to remember the name of the movie she cried on, she reminded me and Nikola about “I am legend” and the scene where the dog dies. Ugh, I still get chills from thinking about it.

Alone, or not alone, is the question now.

6. After remembering this movie, and trying not to cry, we continued our conversation. Biljana told me an interesting movie which, sadly, I hadn’t watched. But, I will, because it looks very promising. It’s the movie “Seven pounds”. I really don’t know anything about it, but if the movie made her cry, than it is an emotional movie.

Seven pounds

That’s it for this week. I really hope I convinced you to watch at least one of these movies. Enjoy.

P.S: Many thanks to my friends who helped me in writing these post. Nikola, Uros, Goran, Mr.z! and Biljana.

2 thoughts on “Movies…Don’t they just make you cry?

  1. Nice post btw…It’s true, I was very emotional when I watched those movies…especially Terminator 2.
    But the biggest thing with that is when I first saw these projects I was just a little kid, and ’cause my parents were working a lot, and I didn’t have any company. So imagine a 6 year old kind, sitting alone in his flat, totally involved in a movie where his hero sacrifices himself….pretty emotionally hard don’t you think?

    • I admit I was a little skeptic about those two movies, but when you put it that way, it is true. A six year old kid who watches his hero die… Kids like that grow up sooner than the rest of us.
      And I realized that, if some movie doesn’t make me cry, it can make others.

      Now that I mention it, did people cry when Rocky Balboa won the match and called his wife?

Leave a Reply

